Go Back   Migration Help > Migration > Partner migration

Notices

De Facto Visa Concerns
Old 12th April 2011, 04:51 PM   #1
jess

Default De Facto Visa Concerns

Hi, I'm so glad I found this forum!

A little background... I'm from the USA and my partner is an Australian citizen. We met in June of 2008 while I was studying here and we've been together ever since. Since then, we've seen each other as much as we could. He has a government job and can only be away for 1 month a year. I was finishing up university in Pittsburgh and spent every break I had with him. He has visited me in the USA 2 times for slightly over a month each time (in October 2008 and December 2009). I've come over to Australia to visit him several times (for Christmas with his family in December 2008, May-Aug 2009, and from July 2010 after I graduated until now). We both traveled back to visit my family in the USA from late Nov 2010 until Christmas (and stopped in Sydney to visit his family on our way back to Broome). Right now, I'm on a 6-month visitor's visa and am not allowed to work. I'm pretty much playing the role of a house-wife right now and he is supporting us. We live in the house that he's been staying at for almost 5 years which is provided through his work, which means I'm not on the lease.

What other ways can we prove we've been living together? I have a few letters addressed to me at the address, but they don't go back to when I first moved in. I've been having everything sent to his name because mail that isn't addressed to the name on the box tends to not arrive (Broome mail is shocking!). Also, because I'm not working, none of the bills are in my name. We have tons of friends and family who can issue statements but that's all I can think of.