Go Back   Migration Help > Migration > Other migration questions

Notices

MRT Appeal - Cap and cease
Old 12th August 2010, 01:05 AM   #1
Robert K Chelliah

Kandralingam Chelliah Registered Migration Agent
MARN 9254011
Default MRT Appeal - Cap and cease

I am posting this outcome of an MRT appeal for a general skilled visa application that was made before September 2007.

A decision was made by the MINISTER that applications made before that date are to be returned to the applicants under section 39(1) and deemed as if the applications were never made. This case, however, was processed, refused, and permitted to appeal to the MRT and the MRT decided that the applicant meets the particular clause upon which it was refused.

The Minister, during the appeal process, had formally advised the MRT the existence of section 39(1).

The MRT has taken the instructions from the Minister to implement section 39(1) on behalf of the Minister. I am not a lawyer, but based on my simple common sense I protested that it is not the duty of the MRT to act on the cap and return provision of the Act.

As there may be other visa applicants in similar circumstances, with the approval of the MH administrators, I am posting this here as I have done in the MIA forum.

I invite comments from fellow agents and those visa applicants affected by such a finding.

My posting in the MIA Forum is as follows:

" The visa application for a subclass 138 was refused by the delegate on 24 June 2008 for not satisfying clause 138.216(1). Soon thereafter the client lodged an appealed to the MRT. The first MRT hearing was held in September 2009. The hearing was suspended to receive further documents to support the assertions that emerged at that hearing. These additional documents were submitted in October 2009.