Go Back   Migration Help > Migration > Student visa issues

Notices

Pregnant application for student visa
Old 6th May 2014, 10:10 AM   #1
freyzin

Default Pregnant application for student visa

Hi, I hope someone can shed light on my predicament: I have a place to do my PhD in Australia beginning this July. I have an IPRSS scholarship so am considered a sponsored student I believe. I am also 7 months pregnant, baby due mid july.

I have been living in Australia for 3 years on another student visa which ran out in April so I am currently staying in Bali while I sort out the next student visa to come back to Aus and give birth in July.

I am hoping to have a home birth. On the application form it asks if you intend to receive follow-up care for pregnancy/cancer etc. I'm worried that if I state my pregnancy the visa will be denied. Being English I am eligible for Medicare but may not be eligible for OSHC if I'm pregnant?

If I don't mention the pregnancy - even though it doesn't outright ask if I am pregnant - is this fraud?

Old 6th May 2014, 07:42 PM   #2
Sheelagh Blanckenberg

Sheelagh Brigid Blanckenberg Registered Migration Agent
MARN 0100161

Hi Freyzin

Welcome to the forum.

A few things to think about:

1. As you will need follow-up care for your pregnancy you should answer yes to this question. Even if granted the student visa now non-disclosure could lead to future visa problems on character grounds.
2. Most airlines do not allow pregnant women to fly when in the last trimester
3. The Reciprocal Health Care Agreement with the UK covers treatment that is medically essential. This usually means any ill-health or injury which occurs while you are in Australia and requires treatment before you return home. Have you checked the costs incurred will be covered by Medicare?