Go Back   Migration Help > Migration > Employer sponsored

Notices

Is it a good idea to go on a Tourist Visa to be able to attend job interviews?
Old 1st August 2010, 04:03 PM   #1
ingenschooly

Default Is it a good idea to go on a Tourist Visa to be able to attend job interviews?

Hi,
It's great to be able to join this site and have an opportunity to ask questions.
My partner and I are seeking employers to sponsor us. He is an Engineer (Construction BSC Eng.) 10 yrs. experience and I am a secondary school teacher UK 16 yrs. experience Head of Department, We have sent lots of his CVs out to employers but had nothing back. We have been looking for approx. 2 months now.
We are really beginning to wonder whether anyone will sponsor him without the local experience and without the opportunity to interview him. We are considering going on a Tourist Visa so that we are there and he can go for interviews. Does anyone know if this would be a quicker way of succeeding in nabbing that all important sponsorship and are we allowed to attend job interviews on such a visa?
We are also wondering if doing the Engineers Australia courses would help to bring about some productive contacts, but so far we have not found out if he can do these short courses on a Tourist Visa. It does state informal study is allowed, but how do you classify informal study?
Any advice is most welcome.
Thanks in advance,
Ingenschooly.

Old 1st August 2010, 05:13 PM   #2
Robert K Chelliah

Kandralingam Chelliah Registered Migration Agent
MARN 9254011

Hi Ingenschooly

I have responded to your other posting.